We Won a Versatile Blogger Award! by Mason

We won a Versatile Blogger Award, and that is when you get an award for writing a blog!  When you win the award, you have to:

1)  Tell about the person who gave you the award

2)  You have to tell seven things about yourself

3)  You have to tell about 15 or less blogs and give them awards.

First, we have to thank you, Erik, for the award!  Erik reviews books.  Erik is a cool kid who does robotics.  He has a blog called This Kid Reviews Books.

The second thing I have to do is tell you what I’m all about.  The first thing is that I’m funny.  Second thing is that I make a lot of friends.  The third thing is that I’m caring.  The fourth thing is that I live in a big yellow house.  The fifth thing is that I like to play sports.  The sixth thing is that I like to read books.  And the last thing is that when I grow up, I want to be an astronomer.

The last thing I have to do is tell you about other people’s blogs.  The first one is Books for Boys(http://boysbookblog.wordpress.com/). There’s a bunch of books on there, that you can pick out from your library.  There’s a book that I’m reading that I found on that blog, and it’s called Airball.  I’m going to write a review about that one.  I’m going to be writing my Airball blog when I’m done with it (the book).  I don’t know which week I’m going to be done with it, it has a lot of pages.

The other blog I want to tell you about is the Origami Yoda blog.  The blog is about people making origami yodas, and you can make one too!

Sincerely, Mason

Side note from Mom:

Thanks to Erik for the “award!”  I’m happy we’ve had this opportunity to share a few of the blogs that have encouraged Mason to read even more.  We’ve shared three very different blogs:  from a kid, from a librarian, and from an author.  This Kid Reviews Books is a great blog written by a ten-year-old (Erik).  He is wise beyond his years, and a prolific blogger.  I’m sure you’ll find some books for your kids on his blog, and it is also a great encouragement for kids to both read and write, and that it’s cool to be smart!

Books for Boys is a great resource because it is written by a male children’s librarian, and specifically focuses on books that boys would like.  We’ve gotten so many great ideas from this site!  Mason is in the midst of  one of his recommendations:  Airball: My Life in Briefs, by L. D. Harkrader and thinks it is really funny: it’s about a boys’ basketball team that plays in their underwear.  We’ve also put  a couple of his other recommendations on hold at the library:  Ferno the Fire Dragon (Beast Quest series, #1), by Adam Blade, what the blog author (nameless on his blog) refers to as “Fantasy Light” for younger kids; and Floors, by Patrick Carman, comparable to “If Willy Wonka Ran a Hotel.”

Finally, we recommended author Tom Angleberger’s blog about his books (including Origami Yoda, which Mason reviewed  in this post).  Not only is it a fun place to visit, but Tom is great with the kids:  answering questions, posting kids’ pictures, and offering contests.  This is what a children’s author should be; so many seem distant and unaccessible, but he is like a kid himself.  Heck, I wish I were a kid so I could participate!  Want your kids to dork out over books instead of TV shows or video games?  Here’s where to start.

Happy reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Book Reviews for Kids, Raising a Reader

One response to “We Won a Versatile Blogger Award! by Mason

  1. I Love Tom Angleberger’s blog! He’s stooky!! Thank you for the nice things you said about me 🙂 It’s cool you want to be an astronomer!

Leave a comment