Mason, 7, reviews The Strange Case of Origami Yoda

I read the Strange Case of Origami Yoda.  It is about a boy named Dwight who folded his own origami Yoda without directions.  People ask Origami Yoda a question, and Origami Yoda tries to answer it.

For example, one kid named Quavondo kept taking Cheetos and not sharing, so they called him the Cheeto Hog. So he asked Origami Yoda, “How can I stop being a Cheeto Hog?”   Origami Yoda told him, “Get Cheetos for everybody.”  He said ok, so at nighttime, he and his big brother went to the grocery shop and he got Cheetos for everybody.  So the day after, at the assembly, he gave Cheetos to everybody.

I  like this book because everybody keeps asking Origami Yoda a question, and he answers really funny questions.  It’s a little bit cool, and it’s about middle schoolers.  I like Dwight because he’s weird, like me.

I think boys will enjoy it because it’s a cool book.  Some girls will like it, girls who like boy stuff.  Some girls do, actually.  I rate this a 9 out of 10.

MOM’S PERSPECTIVE:  Although I did not read the whole book, Mason read a few of these chapters aloud to me.  It has the type of humor you’d find in Diary of  a Wimpy Kid, and also in a similar diary format (although very few pictures).  It centers around middle school-aged kids feeling dorky and trying to figure out how to be cool.  It’s innocent fun, nothing that younger kids shouldn’t read.  Boys will definitely like it, but I think girls will as well.  There are a few significant girl characters in the book, although as Mason pointed out, “the girls in the book are like boys”…I’m assuming that means they are sporty…?  It also has instructions in the back on how to fold your own Origami Yoda, which Mason hasn’t yet tried but is very excited to do.

10 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Book Reviews for Kids

10 responses to “Mason, 7, reviews The Strange Case of Origami Yoda

  1. Mason, I love your book review. I am going to pick-up The Strange Case of Origami Yoda so Daniel and I can read it together. Thanks for sharing. I can’t wait to see what other books you are reading and reviewing. You and Camille have inspired us to start a book club at home and follow your blog along with it. Love and hugs from Colorado! “Auntie” Jen

  2. Side note to all moms: if your kids like Origami Yoda, check out the Origami Yoda blog, which is maintained by the author. He actually interacts with and responds to the kids, which is not only a great way to get them interested in reading, but also writing! Mason posted a question to him, hopefully he will get an answer soon!
    http://origamiyoda.wordpress.com/

  3. Tom Angleberger

    Hey Mason!
    Thanks a lot for reading my book! I’m so glad you liked it.

    But tell your mom that what the boys and girls have in common is being nerdy, not sporty! 🙂

  4. Matthew

    Hi Mason,
    I liked your review. I also wanted to tell you I have The Strange Case of Origami Yoda, Star Wars Head to Head, and Ron’s Big Mission, too! I really liked The Strange Case of Origami Yoda. When I read the part when Dwight was in the equipment locker shouting,” Squirrels! Come save me!” The weird thing about that Zack Martin guy is he can break a bunch of pencils at once. Your review was so cool I think I might start doing those reviews!
    Yours truly,
    Matthew

  5. Matthew

    I accidentally left something out. It was the part when Dwight was in the equipment locker shouting, “squirrels! Come save me!” I meant to say it was funny.

    • I remember that part too! That was really funny. Remember the part when they asked Origami Yoda, “What should I do because Zack broke my pencils?” That’s a really funny book.

      What review are you going to do?

      Truly yours, love,
      Mason

  6. Pingback: We Won a Versatile Blogger Award! by Mason | Fami-Lit

  7. Jen Kenline

    Lisa – You and the Kids need to Check out these books. They are by a local author and are similar in writing style to the Origami Yoda books. http://www.aldozelnick.com/taxonomy/term/5/0

    Smiles, Jen

Leave a Reply

